Friday, October 8, 2010

Another local band formed early 1992. This is O.A.G...

OAG, also spelled O@G, also known as Old Automatic Garbage or Orang Asia Genius, are a Malaysian pop and alternative rock band. The band, formed in 1992, was one of the first English language alternative rock bands in Malaysia to get huge attention from mainstream music listeners. The current line-up of the band are Radhi (vocals and guitar), Azeezul Fitri (drums), Haifizul Azim (guitar), Muhamad Nizam (guitar), and Eric Wong (bass guitar).

The original line-up of the band were Radhi, Chi (drums), Ivan (guitar), and Lam (bass guitar). Their big break came when they recorded a demo tape and sent it to Paul Moss, the producer from Positive Tone. Paul was impressed with the tape and signed the band up under Positive Tone. Gradually they band picked up a respectable number of fans in the country. They went on to win the Best New Artist category in the Anugerah Industri Muzik (AIM) (Malaysian Music Awards) in 1996 and their first videoclip, 60's TV, was also nominated for the Best Video Clip category.

Around the year 2000, OAG began making music in the Malay language. In July 2007, OAG won the group category in the IKON Malaysia contest, the contest which features established artists in Malaysia. The band, together with Jaclyn Victor the winner of the solo category, went on to represent Malaysia in the regional IKON ASEAN in August 2007, where they did not win.

The band is well known for breaking the mainstream music ideology of malay rock and pop and pushing the alternative genre and underground spirit into commercial media such as radio and television. The 60's tv videoclip was a landmark success in a new direction of music video for the country, and becomes one of the most recognizable songs ever in indie/underground circuits (next to Butterfingers' Nicotine and Vio-Pipe).

Although the band's recognition would bring fourth numerous newer bands into the spotlight, the music industry has changed little and no improvement has been deemed worthy of the countries name (either through musical breakthrough, videography or achievement awards).


Old Automatic Garbage

Boys & Girls 1+1=3

Experimental Playground 1967
Coca Cola FIFA Youth World Cup
  • Released: 1997
  • Format: CD
  • Singles: "Name of The Game"
Melody Mocker
  • Released: 1999
  • Format: CD
  • Singles: "Knocked Silly"
Opera Radhi-o Friendly
  • Released: 2002
  • Format: CD
  • Label: EMI
  • Singles: "Slumber"
Satelit Ink.
  • Released: 2003
  • Format: CD
  • Label: EMI
  • Singles: "Nowwhy2", "Konspirasi Bising Internasional", "Beautifool", "Akustatik"
  • Released: 2006
  • Format: CD
  • Label: EMI
  • Singles: "Dayang", "Generasiku", "Permysuri", "Sabtuday"
  • Released: 2008
  • Format: CD

No comments:

Post a Comment